ISTQB Certification Training Courses - Free ISTQB Practice Test Questions & Exam Dumps – PrepAway

Limited Time Discount Offer
10% Off - Ends in 02:00:00

Practice Exams:

All ISTQB Exams

Exam Exam Name
ATA Advanced Test Analyst
ATM Advanced Test Manager
ATTA Advanced Technical Test Analyst
CT-TAE Certified Tester Test Automation Engineer
CTAL-TA Certified Tester Advanced Level - Test Analyst V3.1
CTAL-TM ISTQB - Certified Tester Advanced Level, Test Manager
CTAL-TTA Certified Tester Advanced Level Technical Test Analyst
CTFL v4.0 Certified Tester Foundation Level (CTFL) v4.0
CTFL-2018 ISTQB Certified Tester Foundation Level 2018
CTFL-AT Certified Tester Foundation Level Agile Tester

About ISTQB Certifications

The ISTQB (International Software Testing Qualifications Board) is a non-profit association that issues standard qualifications for software testers and includes representatives drawn from national boards. It also determines the essential standards for administering exams and extends the certifications to specialists in the sector of testing.

Certification Program

Through ISTQB, specialists reach for software testing Agile and Core linked certificates within levels like Foundation, Advanced, as well as Expert. Still, Specialty designations are there for anyone in need of one. Now that you know this, let’s see the descriptions of the varied popular ISTQB exams.


The certificates in addition to exams from ISTQB are meant to bridge the present gap between a number of areas, including research, quality training, as well as industry practice. The exams with their linked details include:

  • CTFL-2018

    Those needing to display practical knowledge about the basic concepts touching on software testing ought to consider the CTFL-2018 exam. This includes those who are testers, test engineers, test analysts, test managers, software developers, and more. Such an exam regards basic software testing knowledge and covers testing basics, testing all over the Software Development Cycle, techniques for testing, static testing, and test management, in addition to tool support in the aim of testing. In all, there will be 40 MCQs in the actual evaluation taking 1 hour, and scores should begin from 65% if you intend to succeed in getting accredited. Finally, the outcome of acing this test is the Certified Tester Foundation Level (CTFL) designation.

  • ATA

    Well, ATA means Advanced Level Test Analyst. The ATA evaluation is aligned with the aspirations of those with advanced adroitness and who have reached an advanced level with regards to their careers in the subject of software testing. The desire of such individuals would be to build their expertise in an area like test analysis as well as design and draw the Certified Tester Advanced Level (CTAL-TA) certificate. The main ATA exam includes 60 MCQs to be solved within 3 hours and to be cleared for the certificate, you need at least 65% of the marks.

  • ATM

    As a rule, test managers do testing for projects through the execution of goals, as well as testing processes that an organization has established. The ATM exam, which represents Advanced Level Test Manager, has to be taken and passed by individuals desiring knowledge within the space, where the linked certificate is the Certified Tester Advanced Level Testing Manager (CTAL-TM). To add more, the main evaluation is 3 hours long and carries 65 MCQs. Plus, passing it implies attaining 65% and more.

  • ATTA

    Those aiming for the ATTA (Advanced Level Technical Test Analyst) evaluation target tasks like recognition and classification of the risks linked to performance, reliability, portability, security, and maintainability of targeted software systems. Such an exam also offers technical elements associated with how to plan, design, and execute tests to target mitigating risks. In all, the ATTA exam will have 45 MCQs to be undertaken within 2 hours. And for individuals to be recognized for the affiliated Certified Tester Advanced Level (CTAL-TTA) certification, they need 65% and above in their results.


    This expert-level exam, also known as the Certified Tester Expert Level Test Management (CTEL-TM), will equip you with the relevant skills of how to deal with test management within a particular organization. Also, to procure the namesake certificates, candidates need to know how to make business-driven solutions that are founded in the KPIs and manage the process of changes. To add more, the official exam will last for 135 minutes to deal with multiple-choice and essay-style questions. Finally, to be awarded the coveted designation, you need to gain at least 65% of all exam items.

Career Prospects

The ISTQB exams cover varied popular roles. As the standard accepted globally, such an organization ensures you’re successful in attracting the attention of hiring managers or employers. With the appropriate certificate, getting a job that you’ve only been imagining is possible. For example, if you have the CTAL-TA validation, your typical role would be that of a test analyst. Then, if yours is the CTAL-TM, you’ll be going with the role of a test manager, while for the CTAL-TTA, you’re likely to become a technical test analyst. Undoubtedly, the certificates are helpful in ensuring open doors in terms of jobs. In job postings, many companies seek ISTQB certifications. This is because when you’ve been accredited by them, you have proven that your interest is in software testing. The CTFL certificate also comes in handy when you feel an entry-level opportunity is what you’re looking for. Still, after reaching it, you can proceed to conquer any one of the advanced endorsements as this is where you’ll be coming across greater opportunities which include jobs as well as pay. In particular, from data, one finds that the median pay for software testers is about $69k per annum, while that for software analysts is about $71k annually. In addition, the same source claims that if you’re into working as a test manager, you’re to expect about $114k yearly.

Certification Path

Undoubtedly, the CTFL certificate is an outstanding way to begin a career in the software testing sector. However, for better opportunities to arise, you need to also move ahead into the higher designation. Thus, the Advanced Level validations will act as an amazing boost when trying to get a job or even something like a promotion. Remember, you can only move up the ISTQB certification arrangement if you have the CTFL certificate. After this one, move to a related qualification of the advanced level. Also, specialist certificates are available in case you develop an interest in a particular technology. Finally, on reaching advanced designations like the CTAL-TA and CTAL-TM, you can apply for expert-level qualifications that are relevant to what you already have.

Add Comments